Workflow Versioning Best Practices

It is important to follow a versioning system so you have the flexibility to revert to previous workflow versions and track development between versions.

  • Create a new version of a workflow if you plan to make significant changes to a workflow. You maintain the ability to revert to a previous version. You can maintain multiple workflow versions.
  • Make sure you can only create instances of the active workflow version. Disable instantiation for older workflow versions by navigating to App Studio > Properties, and clear the Can be instantiated checkbox. 
  • When you add visible variables, global variables, or quick search fields, add them to all workflow versions.

Note: If you do not add the visible variables and global variables to all workflow versions, they will not display in the Flowtime grids.

  • Consider whether to create new UACTs. If UACTs are shared, be aware that changes to UACTs affect all workflow versions. Only create new UACTs when the data was significantly changed. If the data was not significantly changed, use the UACT for streamlined reporting, among other processes.
  • Remember that UTCMBs are shared between workflow versions. If you edit UTCMBs, they affect all versions.
  • Workflow variables are saved separately for each version. Take this into account when a report consumes values from the variables table.
About this Article
  • Created: 03/08/2017 2:20 am EST
  • Last updated: 03/08/2017 2:40 am EST
In This Article